Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Video Game Talk
Reload this Page >

In your opinion do you think the X-Box will last?

Community
Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-02, 01:03 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am sure you have seen millions of topics about which system to buy and etc. Well here is one more.

So I am on the fence about getting an X-Box or a PS2. Gamecube is a good system but in all honesty it doesn't have as much appeal to me as the other two.

The last system I bought was a Dreamcast, and we all know how that went. (It is was and is still a good system, but I want something that will last).

Ok so, here are how the systems add up:
Forget online play, I won't be using either one for online play. Two reasons I am a college student and I don't have the time to play online (can get addictive), and two I would rather just play the game as it is.

Yeah PS2 has more games, but so what? I am on a student budget so I won't be getting a new game at the blink of an eye.
Plus from what I am seen X-Box and PS2 are equal TO ME in terms of quality games. For every Halo there is Vice City, etc.

I am leaning towards X-Box, but I don't want to purchase a system and then six months later hear an announcement that the system will be killed off. That is what I am afraid of if I purchase an X-Box. I know(once again for me atleast) there is alot of quality games for the X-Box, but where did that exactly get Dreamcast? I know that the online play may give Microsoft an edge, but once again where did that get Dreamcast? X-Box isn't doing good in Japan and that was one of the reasons that Dreamcast was killed.

If I make an investment in the X-Box do you think the system will last, or will it be gone by this time next year?