Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > International DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

PAL to NTSC stretch on Anamorphic Region 2 DVDs.

Community
Search
International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-02, 10:49 PM

Location: Over the hills and far away, where the view is NOT as nice as rumored.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Don't mean to anger the regulars here, but I'm sure those with NTSC TVs and Multiregion players have experienced the annoyance of the stretched PAL image on their imported DVDs.

I'd like to stress I understand WHY the image is vertically stretched. Question is, is there some sort of converter box or something that will allow me to watch my PAL discs on my NTSC TV?

Be gentle folks, it's my first time here and I don't mean to insult anyone's intelligence.
Old 07-28-02, 11:08 PM

A Malata DVD player will display PAL movies in their correct aspect ratio on an NTSC television.
Old 07-28-02, 11:22 PM

I have a 4x3 set that is anamorphic/progressive compatible and the jvc 70 player. I've had no problems with PAL discs properly displayed anamorphically. I believe this is an issue with 16x9 sets, which as codefree states is not an issue if you use the xy zoom capability on the malata.
Old 07-29-02, 03:17 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

The way I understand it (partially through my own experience):
MOST* players that can convert PAL to NTSC can not at the same time compress the image IF it's anamorphic. [Basically you get the same result as if you played an anamorphic NTSC disc in 16x9 mode on a normal 4x3 television set - vertical stretching.] If you have a television that can do the squeezing (either a 16x9 screen or a 4x3 screen with 16x9 mode) you're fine. If you have a 4x3 screen that doesn't have a 16x9 mode, you'll have to watch it stretched.

*Some recent players like the Malata and the JVC SA70 display anamorphic PAL images properly no matter what your screen is like.