Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Shopping Discussions > Store Forum
Reload this Page >

Something is bugging me about Netflix.

Community
Search
Store Forum Share Your Shopping Experiences at Stores both Online and Off.

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-02, 08:02 AM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've been using it for almost 2 years and I really love it. But today I was about to report a DVD lost in the mail. At the bottom of the page where you report it they keep a list of other DVD's you have reported lost with an option to "Pay for it". This is what you see when you click on it:

Buy a Lost/Damage DVD

This option allows you to pay for a DVD that has been damaged or lost by you, as opposed to the postal service.

By clicking the Pay for It button below, your credit card on file will be charged $20 plus tax and the movie will be placed in the DVDs You Have Paid For section on the Shipping Problems page.

If you had previously claimed it lost, paying for the DVD will move it from the DVD Lost section to the DVDs You Have Paid For section on the Shipping Problems page.

Now something bothers me about that in that is almost seems as if they are saying that maybe the post office didn't lose it, maybe you just kept or broke it and don't want to pay for it but you might change your mind. I'm sure there is a limit to how many lost dvd's you can report and I haven't had one for over a year but I don't think they should keep it on a list for over a year. I have only reported one other DVD lost, back in April of 2001, and it was truly lost by the post office. Hmmm......
Old 07-18-02, 08:03 AM
DVD Talk Legend

That's pretty hinky.

I'm still waiting for Netflix to cancel my account. You sign up online, order rentals online, manage your account online, and they expect you to CALL to cancel?!