Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Moby's "18"

Old 05-09-02, 02:42 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Moby's "18"

I became aware of this album a few days ago. Not having heard much of Moby before, I was curious to find out if I'd like him much, so I got the new album. I've now listened to it several times and I love it! I've also been listening to "Play", which, I learned, was a huge hit in 1999. I was happy to find many familiar to tunes there - Everloving, for example, is the one that plays during the Requiem For A Dream trailer.

What do you guys think of "18"? Like I said, I'm not a Moby expert by any means, so I'd be interested to know your thoughts. Do you consider it a step back from "Play" or a retread of familiar styles?

The track "We Are All Made Of Stars" is especially great IMO - the music video was beautiful too.
Old 05-09-02, 10:05 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 2,646 Likes on 1,832 Posts
I like the song "We Are All Made of Stars." It has a cool, 70s Bowie feel to it.

I was interested in picking up the "18" album, but a couple of people I know who heard it said that other than "Stars," the album wasn't very good.

I plan on listening to a few of the tracks myself, before I decide whether or not to get it.

"Play" is brilliant, IMO.
Old 05-10-02, 10:53 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I have to disagree. There's almost no song in permanent rotation on Clear Channel at the moment that I hate more than Moby's "We Are All Made of Stars."

How could the man that made "GO!" all those years ago have created this tuneless dreck? Just like that "Southside" song from "Play" - whenever this new "Stars" song comes over my car speakers, I instantly hit the scan button.
Old 05-10-02, 12:57 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame