Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Which is best?

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-02, 11:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Which is best?

I'm kind of new to this kind of stuff so If this is a dumb question I'm sorry. I'm planning on buying a 27" Sony Trinitron television in the next few months and was wondering which was better for the best quality possible on a DVD, S-video, or component cable. I play my DVD's through my PS2 so I'm also wondering which is better for video game quality also. Another question is how much better are the gold plated monster cables.
Old 03-20-02, 11:29 AM
Banned

The PS2 isn't prog scan, so I don't know how much better a movie would look by using component video. As for the Monster cable question, there is a heated debate on this forum as to weither Monster Cable is worth the money. I say, yes, there is a difference. Weither or not you will see a difference depends on your TV and your personal viewing habits. If you plan on using the PS2 as your primary DVD player, I say go for it.
Old 03-20-02, 11:48 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Best possible on a DVD would be a set of component cables.

You would need to identify the TV to see what it will accept.

Gold plated anything has nothing to do with quality, gold is used because it does not oxidize.
Old 03-20-02, 12:12 PM
Sn0
DVD Talk Special Edition

Well component is your best bet but you have to make sure your TV accepts COMPONENT and NOT COMPOSITE, if it really is composite then the s-video is a better solution. Also IMHO there is no need to buy the monster cables you can buy the radio shack cables or even the other line of cables Best Buy sells and you will never notice the difference except in your wallet.
Old 03-20-02, 02:01 PM
Banned

Originally posted by Brian Shannon

Gold plated anything has nothing to do with quality, gold is used because it does not oxidize.
Also, gold is a good conductor.
Old 03-20-02, 02:09 PM