Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

first time purchase - need help (looking for dvd player)

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

first time purchase - need help (looking for dvd player)

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-02, 05:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
first time purchase - need help

I am thinking of buying a new dvd player.. however i am new to this and not very familiar with the different types of dvd players. Used to only watch dvd on dvd-rom.
Anyway.. i just need a few suggestion on which models would be sufficient for first time buyer ,like sony or pioneer or any other good recoomendations
I just want a dvd that can decode 5.1 sound and with progressive scan but doesnt have to be too expensive..
Also I am not sure about whats the diff between the internal and exteranal encoder.. does the internal one mean that u can plug the speakers to the dvd player directly?
thanks in advance
Old 03-01-02, 06:21 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
First off, welcome to the forum!

If you haven't already done so, I'd recommend you take a look at this forum's FAQ. Some of the questions you have are probably answered there.

I'd also suggest a few other things:

* Look through the topics on the first few pages of this forum. Information you won't find in the FAQ, but will still find useful, can be found in the answers to the questions other members ask. (http://www.dvdtalk.com/forum/showthr...hreadid=186192 is a good example of a thread that asks similar questions to yours, but there are many more).

* Make your topic as specific as possible. The further away you get from "Help!," the better the quality of the responses will tend to be. For example, I changed your title to reflect the fact that you're looking for a dvd player.

Good luck.

-stevevt
Old 03-01-02, 11:19 AM
Banned

Re: first time purchase - need help

Originally posted by bluepenny