Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

I need a new TV -- please help!

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-02, 04:14 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Location: Where the sky is always Carolina Blue! (Currently VA - again...)
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The situation here is basically that I have some more money from my birthday and I'm basically sick of watching movies on a 15" monitor and playing games on a 13" TV. I'm looking for something mid-range, preferably 25" to 29" for no more than $300 that will provide good to excellent performance for DVD's and Xbox gaming. At this stage I'm not certain whether or not I'll be picking up a sophisticated sound system -- given that I'm a not-so-rich college student, and I'm not sure where I'll be in a couple of years -- so a decent sound setup would help too.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Any suggestions on stores/deals are also appreciated.

thanks,
Tuan Jim
Old 02-25-02, 05:45 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

An online price match over at Sears for a lower end model from Toshiba, Panasonic, Hitachi or JVC may work to get a 27" set for about $300

Also look into some of the HTIB(home theater in a box) setups from Sony, Panasonic and Kenwood. They are relatively inexpensive and will get you started.
Old 02-25-02, 06:17 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Best Buy lists these two models that look pretty good (both around $300):

Toshiba -- http://www.bestbuy.com/detail.asp?e=...cat=24&scat=27

Philips -- http://www.bestbuy.com/detail.asp?e=...cat=24&scat=27

I'm a little more inclined towards the Philips -- it has S-video and Component, and there's also the horizontal resolution (not sure what that means -- Philips says 800 lines, but Toshiba says "not rated") Any info on these two -- is the Philips definitely better than the Toshiba for the price or not? I'm not too good with this stuff.