Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Thx?

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-01, 12:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thx?

Hi everyone, (my first post)

Can anyone tell me what THX is, and is it something I need? I'm just getting started into a home theater and want to make as few mistakes as possable. So far all I have is the large screen TV (Toshiba 55HX70). Next I'd like to get a receiver and a VCR, so any suggestions would be great. I don't need top of the line but I don't want something that won't sound good or be out dated in a short time either.

Thanks, and any help would be appreciated!

Kathy
Old 12-03-01, 02:05 AM

Hi and welcome.

THX is simply a form of certification. It is standards set for video, audio, and anything else in home theater. If something has the THX logo on it, it just means that that piece of equipment has met the standards that THX holds. Just because something does not bare the THX logo does mean it's not a great item. Most equipment does not have THX certification. However, most (if not all) THX certified pieces are awesome, but tend to be a bit pricey at times. It's a way for a customer to "know" the equipment they are buying is good. You can even have your own living room THX certified for a nice penny to Mr. Lucas!

Hope this helps.
Old 12-03-01, 02:16 AM

Bose Pro, thanks for the explanation & the welcome, and yes it helped a lot!

Kathy
Old 12-03-01, 10:05 AM

Purchasing THX certified equipment isn't always necessary, but certified equipment generally has a bit more power for extra headroom. It's like getting a car with the larger engine. You will put less stress on a certified piece than you might on a non-cert , simply because of the headroom.
Old 12-03-01, 11:26 AM
Premium Member

Just to add the cost of the logo has a lot to do with the higher cost of THX certified product. There is a ton of gear that would pass that just has not been submitted.
Old 12-03-01, 12:59 PM