Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Please recommend some PC games...

So I built a new rig:

Q9550 CPU
Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 1 GB
4 gb RAM
Vista 64
etc...

So now, since I've been out of PC games for quite awhile, please recommend some. I currently play, with stars, as I see it, out of five:

Crysis (original) *** - I haven't bought the expansion, but enjoy the original. Have not played it online, yet.
Team Fortress 2 **** - A year old or so, but REALLY like playing this one. Haven't played it much lately, though.
City of Heroes **** - (Don't laugh) I just bought this for the free month, and I like it. But it doesn't seem too easy to get a group, and I'm still a bit lost on how some things work. Still, it's really fun.
Everquest ***** - (PLEASE don't laugh!) I have been playing this off and on since 2001. I still get a lot of enjoyment from the game, and there's NO leetspeeking teens. I love how this game is more about the journey than instant gratification of something like WoW.

Here's a couple of games I'm considering:

Fallout 3 - Is it just shooting/blowing stuff up?
Far Cry 2 - Is it just shooting/blowing stuff up?
Warhammer Online - One thing I don't like about WoW is the "cartoony" look of it, which is ironic, considering I really like City of Heroes. But I don't think I could get past the community in WoW, either. Is Warhammer different? Is it worth the 50 clams?
Age of Conan - I WANT this to be good. I want it to be fantastic! But from what I'm hearing, it's not.
Call of Duty (or similar) - I like games like these alot, but have no idea which to buy (if any), or if there's plans for any new ones I should wait for.

Games I'm NOT considering:
WoW - I guess I'm just stubborn.
Sports games - Although I like online Soccer games, other sporting games are best left to consoles with friends/family, IMO.

In any event, I'd sure love some feedback!
Old 10-31-08, 02:18 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition