Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Sony STR-DE945 or Pioneer VSX-D509S???

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Sony STR-DE945 or Pioneer VSX-D509S???

Old 03-05-01, 09:57 PM
Cool New Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have been comparing these two, and many others, but I am still undecided, as the Pioneer is less expensive by about $100 or so.

Has anyone had any good/bad experiences? I'm new to HT, so any suggestions for a first receiver would be most appreciated.

Also, anyone have any good places to find these two things online, cheap? I've been reading the threads and know about how Sears will pricematch, but so far, no luck in finding anywhere that sells them cheap.

Many thanks,

pieront
Old 03-06-01, 02:07 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts
I've had the Pioneer for over a month now and I have to give it a big thumbs up.

I got mine through Yahoo's shopping link. They will compare about 10-15 different prices on each item. I got it for $254 shipped from a place called iDealsmall.
Old 03-06-01, 10:55 AM
Cool New Member

I would recommend the Pioneer over the Sony. I have not been happy with the performance and quality of the Sony DE series receivers. I think the Pioneer is a better unit.
Old 03-06-01, 08:18 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

I would go for the Pioneer for a hundred bucks less, but if you really like Sony drop a couple more dollars and get the DB series, either the 840 or 940. Much better build quality and amp section compared to the DE line. I have had my DB series for almost a year and have not been disappointed once. Great performer, a bargain for the price.

J
Old 03-06-01, 09:48 PM

Vote for Pioneer