Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > HD Talk
Reload this Page >

HD-DVD vs. Blu-Ray vs. everything else free-for-all

Community
Search
HD Talk The place to discuss Blu-ray, 4K and all other forms and formats of HD and HDTV.

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-06, 09:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

All I can say is this. When DVD-Audio and SACD came out, I studied them until the cows came home. Clearly by looking at the specs, DVD-Audio was the clear winner in both audio specs and features. Being a musician it was very important to me to get the best possible audio I could get. I purchased a good DVD-Audio player and as many of these wonderful discs I could. And what happened. Not only did DVD-Audio go the way of Beta, even SACD is losing out to yet another format, Dual-Disc, which is obviously not as good as either format! The demands of the user, and the sometimes unsound choices of manufacturers sticks us in the end. I for one WILL NOT get into either format, HD-DVD or Blu-Ray. Oh I have an HD-TV (have had one for 5 years) and have been iching for something like this. My wife and I love movies. We have almost a thousand DVDs. I adore the shows in HD that I occassionaly watch and I for one know the benefits of an HD format with DVDs, but come on guys, let's see a standard! I'm not going to invest all this money and effort into something that like the lottery, may or may not hit. Beta burned people, DVD-Audio burned me (I still love the ones I have, but am sad there will be no more.) I am not going down that road again. Standardize things and stop taking the consumers for a ride down the road to poverty. Our pockets aren't as deep as the big boys. We can't afford to take such a drastic plunge. In the words of Forest Gump, "And that's all I have to say about that."
Old 04-14-06, 09:59 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition