Reload this Page >

Need advice: Stay with cable or try streaming

Streaming Talk The Place to talk about streaming video and audio

Old 04-20-12, 07:23 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My situation: I have AT&T Uverse U300 + internet max and I love it. Except I’m paying $50 for the internet and $100 for everything else. I want to “cut the cable” to save money but I’m new to streaming shows/movies online.

I’ve found that some websites offer their programs for viewing online. However, I’m also finding that some websites, like Discovery Channel, don’t have the full episodes or require you to have a cable account, like Cartoon Network.

I’m looking at buying the Roku device and subscribing to Hulu+ and Netflix, but I’m concerned that I’ll miss out on a lot of my favorite shows (American Chopper, Deadliest Catch, Young Justice, Walking Dead, NFL/NBA/MLB sports, just to name a few).

Will Netflix and Hulu+ be the answer to my concerns, or should I just pay for the convenience of having it all in one nice, overpriced package? I would have thought that streaming online would be a lot farther along but right now it doesn’t seem to be.
Old 04-20-12, 08:23 PM

Received 503 Likes on 364 Posts
Re: Need advice: Stay with cable or try streaming

In general, streaming is not going to give you the same content as cable. A Roku box with Netflix, Amazon and Hulu+ can provide you with an enormous amount of content that's worth watching. But it doesn't give you everything. You won't have local news or live sports. And the availability of current TV shows is fairly limited.

If you're willing to spend a little more, you can get more content. You can buy current TV shows at Amazon for around $1.99 per episode. Depending on your location, you might be able to use a TV antenna to get free local channels. And you can buy a subscription to MLB, NBA and NHL, but the Roku doesn't offer NFL.